Symphony No. 41 in C Major K. 551 "Jupiter"

Symphony No. 41 in C major K. 551 "Jupiter"

In the fourth movement Mozart employs an imaginative five part fugato in the midst of a traditional sonata form structure. The P.T. - principle theme, is #1(blue) and the S.T. - subordinate theme, is #4 in pink. The remaining three motives are dispersed throughout the movement, #2 appears directly after the P.T. followed by #3 and #4 and #5 respectively.

Example 1

Example 2:  To hear motives, click on the first measure.











Return to Mozart's Travels